CALL: 800-336-8511

Meet the leadership team

Find A Location


Find out what makes our communities so special

Our corporate executive leadership team includes professionals with extensive experience in senior living that are focused on blending the needs of existing residents and their families with the changing trends that will affect future residents.


Bruce H. Shogren, President and CEO

Bruce joined PMMA in 1996 as chief financial officer, treasurer of the board and vice president of information systems. He was named CEO in 2011. A certified public accountant, he came to PMMA after 12 years at a public accounting firm serving clients in various industries. He has a bachelor of science in accounting from Kansas State University.


Bill Taylor, COO

Bill Taylor became the Chief Operating Officer of PMMA, effective July 1, 2015. Bill has 30 years of long-term care experience. Prior to his regional director position, he served as the executive director of Salina Presbyterian Manor. He entered into the long term care industry in 1985, garnering experience as an administrator, an owner and operator of two nursing communities, and a CEO of Blue Valley Lutheran Homes in Hebron, Nebraska. His love of and dedication to seniors began as a child because he lived across the street from Bethany Home, a Lutheran continuum-care senior living community in Lindsborg, Kan. He often visited “his neighbors” who supported his lemonade stand and his entrepreneurial spirit.


Joseph A. “Joe” Girardi, Chief Financial Officer

Joseph A. “Joe” Girardi became Chief Financial Officer in November 2015. Joe has more than 10 years of experience as a CFO or vice president of finance for non-profit health care and senior living organizations. He most recently served as chief financial officer for the newly formed Ascension Health Senior Care based in St. Louis, Mo. Ascension serves 5,100 seniors from 34 individual communities in 11 states and the District of Columbia. Joe is a Certified Management Accountant and has a bachelor of science degree in accounting and a master’s degree in business administration from the University of Delaware in Newark, Del. He has completed the executive education program at the University of Virginia, Darden School of Business, in Charlottesville, Va., in 2008.


Jeanne Gerstenkorn, senior vice president of health and wellness

Jeanne holds BS and MS degrees in nursing. In addition, she holds certifications in resident assessment, clinical management, geriatrics and nursing informatics.


Karen Harriman, senior vice president marketing and communications

Karen Harriman was vice president of marketing and development with Presbyterian Manors of Mid-America from 1999 to 2001, when she left to serve as president of SSM St. Mary’s Health Center Foundation in St. Louis. She returned to PMMA in 2009 as vice president of marketing and communications. She has more than 20 years’ experience in management, marketing, public relations, communications and development. She received a bachelor’s of arts degree in education and a master of arts in communications from Western Illinois University. She received a master’s of business administration from Wichita State University.


Sherry K. Hind, vice president corporate administrative services

Sherry K. Hind joined Presbyterian Manors of Mid-America in 1978 as secretary for interpretation and support (development and marketing). She served in operations and property development from 1980 to 1985 when she became administrative assistant to the president and CEO. She became corporate secretary and executive assistant in 1996 and named vice president for corporate administrative services in 2011. Hind oversees corporate programs including insurance coverage, licensing of communities and resident agreements. She serves as secretary to the board of trustees.


Ethel Smith, senior vice president human resources

Ethel Smith joined Presbyterian Manors of Mid-America in 1988 as director of benefits. She then served as director of human resources before being promoted to her executive position. She has a bachelor of arts degree from Westmar College in Iowa and a master of science degree in management from Friends University in Wichita, Kansas. She holds a certification from the Society of Human Resource Managers, as a Senior Professional in Human Resources.


Gary McGuire, vice president information systems

Gary McGuire was named vice president of information systems at Presbyterian Manors of Mid-America in March 2014 after working as a consultant with PMMA for 10 years. Gary has worked in the field of Information Systems for more than 20 years and has been an IT consultant for approximately 18 years, working in the fields of health care, banking, manufacturing and education.

Board of Trustees

As a nonprofit organization operating 18 retirement communities in Kansas and Missouri, Presbyterian Manors of Mid-America’s board of trustees comprises community and business leaders from the two states. In addition to their general governing responsibility, the volunteer trustees provide input about the needs of seniors, approve corporate policies and help with fundraising. Trustees may also serve in an advisory capacity with individual PMMA communities.

  • Dan Harris – Dodge City, Kansas
  • James J. Cook – St. Louis, Missouri
  • Elizabeth B. McKell – Overland Park, Kansas
  • Eleanor Nelson – Lenexa, Kansas
  • R. Lyman Ott – Mission Hills, Kansas
  • Randy Wedel – Overland Park, Kansas – Chairman
  • Bruce H. Shogren – President/CEO
  • W. Stanley Churchill – Legal Counsel
  • Gary D. Brennecke, Parsons, Kansas
  • Ralph D. Gage Jr., Lawrence, Kansas
  • Aaron Morrison, Salina, Kansas

Community Executive Leadership

Executive directors lead the operations of Presbyterian Manors of Mid-America’s individual communities. In addition to the day-to-day activities, their responsibilities include community relations, fundraising, planning for future needs and working with each community’s advisory council.

  • Aberdeen Heights (Kirkwood, Missouri) – James "Jamie" Kneen
  • Aberdeen Village (Olathe, Kansas) -Tim Allin
  • Arkansas City (Kansas) Presbyterian Manor – Sarah Griggs
  • Clay Center (Kansas) Presbyterian Manor - Sheldon Klassen, interim
  • Emporia (Kansas) Presbyterian Manor – Susan Siepelmeier
  • Farmington (Missouri) Presbyterian Manor – Jane Hull
  • Fort Scott (Kansas) Presbyterian Village – Ginger Nance
  • Fulton (Missouri) Presbyterian Manor – Dawn Smith
  • Lawrence (Kansas) Presbyterian Manor – Christie Patrick
  • Manor of the Plains (Dodge City, Kansas) – Jerry Korbe
  • Newton (Kansas) Presbyterian Manor – Marc Kessinger
  • Parsons (Kansas) Presbyterian Manor – Maegen Pegues
  • Rolla (Missouri) Presbyterian Manor – Ann Caudill
  • Salina (Kansas) Presbyterian Manor – Brad Radatz
  • Sterling (Kansas) Presbyterian Manor – Mike Rajewski
  • Topeka (Kansas) Presbyterian Manor – Heather Pilkenton
  • Wichita (Kansas) Presbyterian Manor – Dawn Veh
  Just ask bottom_img_3 bottom_img_4